

Warrnambool Surf Life Saving Club Annual General Meeting Minutes Friday 6th October 2023, 7.15PM Location – WSLSC Clubhouse

Item		Action
1	Attendance	Clinton Hill, David Atkinson, Justin Houlihan, Travis Madigan, Liz Duncan, John McNeil, Kath Madigan, Mia Cook, Kai Moloney, Jase Moloney, Dale Nepean, Kristie Chiller, Alan Johnson, Joyce Vafiades, Annette McGrath, Dulcie Askew, Rob Askew, Mike Vafiades, Jacinta Roache, Gary Askew, John Cook, Darren Shiell, Chris Lawlor, Ben Johnson, Bob Collins, Paul Jones, Josephine McDowell, Clint Joseph, Alan Auslebrook, Elke Auslebrook, Gavan Hart
2	Apologies	Robert Dart, Toby Pettigrew, John Whitson, Brad Chiller, Kevin Chiller, Sharon Blackney, Rebel Noter
3	Acknowledgement of Country	The Warrnambool Surf Life Saving Club acknowledges that the land on which we stand, is the traditional land of the Peek Whurrong of the Gunditjmara – Maar people, and we pay our respects to their elders past, present and emerging and we support the principles of a reconciled Australia for all its people. We also acknowledge and respect the cultural diversity of all our members.
4	Voting rules	The WSLSC Constitution stipulates the following:
		16.1 Members entitled to Vote
		All Members holding a current SLSA bronze medallion, Life Members and Directors (whilst in office) shall have one vote at General Meetings
5	Confirmation of Minutes of the 2021- 22 Annual General Meeting	Motion that these minutes are a true and accurate record of the AGM held on 19th August 2022
		Moved Alan Johnson, Seconded Travis Madigan, CARRIED
6	Confirmation of Minutes of Special General Meeting held 1 st April 2022	Note that the minutes of this SGM were not confirmed at the previous AGM, which was an oversight. Minutes were posted on the Club website for 12 months.
		Motion that these minutes are a true and accurate record of the SGM held on 1 st April 2022
		Moved Clinton Hill, Seconded John Cook, CARRIED
7	Business arising from previous AGM minutes	None
8	Presentation and Adoption of 2022-23 Annual Report	Copies available at the meeting, will be posted on the Club website.
		Motion that the 2022-23 Annual Report as tabled by the Secretary be accepted
		Moved David Atkinson, Seconded Christie Chiller, CARRIED

Presentation and Adaption of	Motion that audited Financial Statements (Report) as tabled by the Director – Finance be accepted
•	
	Moved Kath Madigan, Seconded Liz Duncan, CARRIED
Life Member's Report 2022-23	Chair of the Life Members, Justin Houlihan spoke on behalf of the Life Members.
	Motion that Dean Kilpatrick be accepted as a Life Member
	Moved Justin Houlihan, Seconded David Atkinson, CARRIED
Motion for Affiliation with Life Saving Victoria for Season 2023- 24	Motion that affiliation be sought for the 2023-2024 season with Life Saving Victoria. Further, that the articles, by-laws, regulations and resolutions, together with awards and equipment of Surf Life Saving Australia Ltd and affiliated State Centres', be accepted without reservation.
	Moved Darren Sheill, Seconded Mike Vafiades, CARRIED
Motion for Appointment of Auditor and Honorary Positions for Season 2022-23	1) Motion that Mayor of Warrnambool City Council be appointed as Club Patron
	Moved Jacinta Roach, Seconded Clinton Hill, CARRIED
	2) Motion that Robert Cole of Maddens Lawyers be appointed as Honorary Solicitor
	Moved David Atkinson, Seconded Kath Madigan, CARRIED
	3) Motion that McLaren Hunt be appointed as Auditor
	Moved Liz Duncan, Seconded Joyce Vafiades, CARRIED
	Automatic Appointments;
	4) LSV State Centre Delegate – Club Captain (can delegate)
	5) Public Officer – Club Secretary
Election of Office Bearers for 2023-24 Season	The Chair thanked outgoing Directors for their contribution; Clint Joseph, James Kol and Jackson Fary
	The following nominations were received by The Secretary – Clinton Hill, prior to Wednesday 6 th September 2023, 10.00AM as required by the Constitution. No nomination was received for the Director – Lifesaving.
	All positions were unopposed and therefore are duly appointed.
	President – John McNeil, Nominated Clinton Hill, Seconded Kath Madigan
	Vice President – Travis Madigan, Nominated Jackson Fary, Seconded John McNeil
	Club Captain – Josephine McDowall, Nominated Trav Madigan, Seconded Jackson Fary
	Secretary – Clinton Hill, Nominated Trav Madigan, Seconded John McNeil
	Director - Finance (Treasurer) – Liz Duncan, Nominated Trav Madigan, Seconded Jackson Fary
	Saving Victoria for Season 2023- 24 Motion for Appointment of Auditor and Honorary Positions for Season 2022-23 Election of Office Bearers for

		Director - Senior Sports – John Cook, Nominated Chris Lawlor, Seconded Finn Cook
		Director - Training – Dean Kilpatrick, Nominated Jo McDowell, Seconded Kath Madigan
		Director - Communications and Media – Kath Madigan, Nominated John McNeil, Seconded Jackson Fary
		Director - Junior Activities – Trav Madigan, Nominated Jackson Fary, Seconded Jo McDowell
		Director - Member and Leadership Development – Jacinta Roache Ralston Nominated Clinton Hill, Seconded Jackson Fary
		Director - Facilities – Chris Lawlor, Nominated John Cook, Seconded John McNeil
		Director - Lifesaving position was declared as a casual vacancy
14	Meeting Close	The Chair thanked attendees for their attentive and respectful attendance.
		Meeting closed at 6:16 pm